30 MPs Who will not be in the Next Parliament

When the current Parliament officially expires in May 2021, it will mark an end to Foreign Affairs minister, Sam Kutesa’s 41-year-run as a legislator.

Kutesa who joined Parliament in 1980 as MP for Mbarara North is among the 32 MPs who booked their exit tickets months before the January 14, 2021 elections.

The 32 either opted not seek re-election after losing party primaries, died or gave up due to personal reasons.

 Nearly 15 of these lost the ruling
National Resistance Movement Elections (NRM) party primaries while eight opted not to seek re-election.  

Kutesa tops the list of those who sought to voluntarily retire from elective politics but fronted his daughter, Shartsi Nayebare Musherure to replace him in Mawogola North.

He was joined by his cabinet colleagues Raphael Magyezi (Local Government), Muruuli Mukasa (Public Service) and Godfrey Kiwanda (state for Tourism) in opting out voluntarily unlike ministers Adolf Mwesige (Defence), Mary Karooro Okurut  (OPM, General Duties), Evelyn Anite (Investment), Isaac Isanga Musumba  (Urban Development), Moses Kizige (Co-operatives) and Benny Namugwanya Bugembe (Kampala) who suffered humiliating defeat in their respective constituencies.

Other loser ministers are, Eng John Byabagambi (Karamoja), Gabriel Ajedra gadson (Finance, General Duties), Grace
Freedom Kwiyucwiny (Northern Uganda) and Henry Okello Oryem (state, Foreign Affairs).

The opposition will not have Kyadondo East’s Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu who sought to size up against President Yoweri Museveni and end his 35-year occupancy of the State House.

Joining Kyagulanyi is pursuing other political paths is Bukoto East’s Florence Namayanja who wants to lead the newly created Masaka City as Mayor while Nabilah Naggayi Ssempala, the current Kampala Woman MP wants be the capital city’s Lord Mayor.

Former Leader of the Opposition in Parliament and Kasese Woman MP, Winfred Kiiza also bowed out but is yet to disclose her next stop.

She is currently busy with the Alliance for National Transformation  (ANT) presidential candidate, Maj. Gen. Mugisha Muntu’s campaigns.

 Mbale Municipality’s Jack Wamanga Wamai is another opposition figure that will be missing in the 11th Parliament having decided not to contest citing in fights within his party – the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC).

He says infighting in the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) caused a lot of problems and he chose to opt out. 

Wamai claims to have been personally attacked because of his stand on the Mutoto forest land giveaway for the expansion of the new city in the east of the country.

While he supported the forest giveaway, his FDC colleagues in Mbale were strongly and it is the resultant internal conflict that made him to decide not to seek re-election and concentrate on private business.   

Having served out his time as Youth MP (Northern), Oscar Omony sought to return to Parliament as Nwoya MP but lost the NRM primaries to Tonny Awany. 
Is among the losers that opted not to run as Independents and is now focused on going into business and farming,  “a passion that runs through the family.”

Kumi County MP Charles Ilukor, says that he is done with elective politics. 
“After losing in the NRM primaries, I  recalled that I had made a promise to the people that I would serve only one term. I therefore decided to drop the ambitions of returning as an Independent candidate and now will go for private business,” he said.

Ilukor doesn’t see himself as a career politician and believes that he has accomplished his vision for Kumi county. 
“As an accountant, businessman and farmer, I will go back to where I was,” he said, adding that his loss in the NRM primaries was a blessing in disguise because being in Parliament is troublesome.  

The list of the NRM losers also has; Musumba (Buzaaya), Kizige (Bugabula North), Lillian Nakate (Luwero Woman),  John Bosco Lubyayi (Mawokota South), Abraham Byandala (Katikamu North), Peace Kusasira (Mukono Woman) Benny Namugwanya (Mubende Woman) and Amos Mandera (Buyamba).

Others are, Anite (Koboko Municipality) Michael Tusiime (Mbarara Municipality), Aboud Kitatta (Bukoto west), Lawrence Bategeka (Hoima Municipality) Mayanja Mbabali (Bukoto South), Okello Oryem (Chua East), Kwiyucwiny (Zombo Woman) Mwesige  (Bunyangabu), Byabagambi (Ibanda South) and Ajedra (Vurra).

Kamuli Municipality’s Rehema Watongola had sought to return to Parliament as an Independent after losing the NRM primaries but she unfortunately died two weeks ago.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.