53 Judicial officers appointed to magistrate grade one

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) has appointed 53 Judicial Officers on probation to the position of Magistrate Grade One.

This is according to a statement issued on Friday by the acting Senior Communications Officer, Maria Theresa Nabulya. 

The appointed officers include 33 females and 20 males.

The appointment brings the total number of Magistrate Grade One appointed for the financial year 2021 2022 to 144 Judicial Officers.

In the recent past, the Commission appointed 109 Judicial Officers to the positions of Deputy Registrar, Assistant Registrar, Chief Magistrate, Senior Principal Magistrate Grade One and Senior Grade One.

 The most recent appointment includes nine judicial officers in acting capacity to serve in different positions.

The appointment of 253 Judicial Officers of the lower bench is expected to significantly enhance the human resource capacity of the Judiciary to execute its mandate in the adjudication of cases.

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni directed cabinet to make sure more judicial officers are appointed in this financial year so as to improve access to justice for the people and create a conducive work environment for investors.

Article 148 of the Constitution gives JSC the responsibility to confirm appointments and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in judicial offices and remove them from the judiciary.

The appointed Magistrates Grade One include; Betty Lunkuse, Franca Okello Atto, Happy Monica, Diana Nabalayo, Jemimah Aciro, Alex Niyonzima, Proscovia Nabayego, Norah Baluku, Ramathan Wandera Akiiki, Methodius Niyongira, Agnes Oneka Abalo, Smith M. Ogwal, Michael Okot, Innocent Kagumire Ahimbisibwe, Diana Nekesa, Mirriam Amoro, Fred Katugume, Joan F Nyakecho, Painento M Waisswa, Godfrey M Aballa, Frank Namanya, Moses Mfitumukiza, Julian Nabaasa Tumwijukye, Khadija F Kahunde, Stanislaus Okello Ongwee and Praise Mbabazi.

The others are; Peter Isingoma, Teddy Nakawuki, Prima Kyomugisha, Brian Mwanja, Leila Mary Nabatanzi, Gertrude Kyazike, Claire Twesigye, Maureen Namono, Rachael Musinguzi, Anxious Atumanya, Alex Baguma, Stella Namukobe, Bob Simple Asiimwe, Rhoda Acham,  Jennifer Aloyo, Frank Kwesigabo, Shamilah Isingoma, Deo Lutalo Kizito, Anne Nanteza,  Shamim Rukiyah Nalule, Caesar Paul Atyang, Eunice Mwogera, Halima Omar Ahmed,  Catherine Nankanja, Peace Kibeedi, Stella Rita Kwaga and Linda Nakalema.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.