Chaos in Tororo as voters names miss on the register

voters names miss

A number of voters were upset after finding their names missing on the voters’ register at Muwenge Primary School polling station, Tororo District.

Residents of Sere Sub County are voting for the district councilor after the seat fell vacant following the appointment of Owere Odumbi as parish chief.

The race has attracted three candidates namely Daniel Lando an independent, Charles Dickens Okellu of NRM, and Patrick Owori independent.

By midday, elections at the polling station were yet to start.

The Tororo Deputy registrar Abbey Beru said that more than 300 names were missing.

“We received the register with more than 300 names missing and as I speak now, we have called the electoral commission headquarters to forward us a new register with full names,” said Beru.

He expected the elections to start immediately after the electoral commission sends the register.

William Obbo, a voter at the polling station said he came as early as 7 a.m. to cast his vote but was surprised to find his name was missing.

Jane Achieng, another voter said that when she found her name missing she returned home disappointed.

Muwenge polling station is among the six polling stations in the sub-county that has more than 600 voters.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.