LoP names shadow cabinet

Mathias Mpuuga Leader Of Opposition in Parliament (LoP)


The leader of opposition in parliament (LoP), Mathias Mpuuga has appointed a new shadow cabinet in a move to supervise the recently appointed ministers in their respective ministries.

 Mpuuga who was appointed by National Unity platform (NUP) recently as the Leader of Opposition in Parliament after his party NUP got majority of opposition MPs in 11th parliament replacing Forum for Democratic Change’s Betty Aol Ocan.

The Shadow Cabinet comprises members from the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), Democratic Party(DP), People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Uganda people’s Congress(UPC) and Independents.

Mpuuga announced the Cabinet at Parliament on Friday, 25 June 2021.

“By virtue of powers conferred upon me under Article 82A(c) of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, and Rule 14 (2) of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament,I have appointed and designated the following Honorable Members of Parliament to the Shadow Cabinet,” the document from the office of LoP which the Witness has seen reads in part

The appointments are in accordance with Rule 14 of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, which provides that “the Leader of the Opposition shall in consultation with his/her party leadership appoint a shadow cabinet from members of the Opposition in Parliament.”

The shadow cabinet members hold portfolio and functions corresponding to those of Cabinet ministers and are mandated to provide alternative policy recommendations to government.

The new Shadow Cabinet includes:  Niwagaba Wilfred (Ind, Ndorwa East) as the Attorney   General, Shamim Malende NUP, Kampala woman Mp) in charge of Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Muhammad Muwanga Kivumbi  (NUP, Butambala county )  holding the portfolio of  Finance, Planning and Economic Development minister. 

Others are Fortunate Rose Natongo (Dp, Kyotera district woman Mp) for Gender ,Labour & Social Development ,Atkins Katushabe (FDC, Bukonzo West ) for public service , Odur Jonathan( UPC, Erute South), for Defence & veteran affairs , Masaba Karem( Independent Mbale Industrial division) for Tourism and wild life ,  Okot Santa(PPP, Aruu North )for Special Regions(Luweero, Karamoja, NorthernUganda,Bunyoro, Teso) among others .


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.