Mpuuga named Leader of the Opposition

Mathias Mpuuga swearing-in as MP

The National Unity Platform (NUP) has appointed the Nyendo-Mukungwe MP, Mathias Mpuuga Nsamba as leader of the opposition in Parliament (LOP).

Mpuuga was formally appointed on Friday after a three-hour natiinal executive committee meeting at the NUP headquarters in Kamwokya near Kampala.

Manjiya MP, John Baptist Nambeshe was named Chief Opposition Whip and will be deputised by Jinja City Woman MP, Manjeri Kyebakutika.

Both Mpuuga and Nambeshe sit on the party’s national executive committee as deputy presidents for Buganda and Eastern regions respectively.

The opposition has also deployed Busiro East MP, Medard Lubega Sseggona to chair the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), and will be deputized by Bugiri Municipality MP Asuman Basalirwa.

Basalirwa is also the Justice Forum (JEEMA) president.

Nakawa West MP, Joel Ssenyonyi has been deployed to chair the committee on Commissions Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises (COSASE) with FDC’s Lucy Akello (Amuru Woman) as deputy chair.

Mukono Municipality MP, Betty Nambooze will chair the Government Assurances Committee with Kalungu West MP, Joseph Gonzaga Ssewungu as her deputy.

Bardeg-Layibi MP, Mapenduzi Ojara will chair the Local Governments Public Accounts committee with Nakaseke South MP, Paulson Luttamaguzi as deputy chair.

Mityana Municipality MP, Francis Zaake will represent the party on the Parliamentary Commission; the administration arm of the legislature while Aisha Kabanda will be the party’s eyes and ears at the Parliamentary pension fund.

Flavia Nabagabe Kalule (Kassanda Woman) has been deployed to the Inter-parliamentary union (IPU) as Busujju MP, David Lukyamuzi Kalwanga goes to the Commonwealth Parliament.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.