NRM Gets 6 MPs Unopposed

Unopposed: Lillian Paparu Obiale (Arua Woman MP)

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) continued to show its dominance of Uganda’s politics registering at least six of its candidates for the 2021 parliamentary elections unopposed.

On Friday, The Witness reported that the NRM had its candidates in Buyamba (Rakai district), Bugahya (Hoima district), Nakaseke North (Nakaseke district) and Buyanja East (Kibaale district) go through unopposed.

Read more: NRM Wins Buyamba, Bugahya and Buyanja East Seats without a Sweat

The ruling party also secured the Ik county seat after the incumbent MP, Hillary Lokwang was declared unopposed. This is the second time that Lokwang goes to Parliament without a challenge.

NRM also got through Lillian Paparu Obiale unopposed for the Arua Woman MP seat. Obiale is a social worker who formerly worked as a communications and resource mobilization officer at Community Empowerment for Rural Development (CEFORD).

“That shows that the NRM spread out in the entire country. Despite the chaos and confusion we witness during the primaries, getting six of our candidates going unopposed to the next Parliament shows that the people of Uganda still have trust in the party,” said Mathias Kasamba, the director of mobilization at the NRM secretariat. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.