NRM Wins Buyamba, Bugahya and Buyanja East Seats without a Sweat

Buyamba MP-elect Ssemwanga Gyaviira

As nomination of the 2021 Parliamentary candidates closed, the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) was celebrating victory in Rakai’s Buyamba County, Bugahya County in Hoima district, Buyanja East in Kibaale district, and Nakaseke North in Nakaseke district.

A 34-year-old businessman, Ssemwanga Gyaviira was declared unopposed for the Buyamba county seat after none of the politicians including outgoing MP, Amos Mandela who had wanted to challenge him failed to turn up for nomination.

For the second time in a row, Pius Wakabi got elected unopposed for the Bugahya parliamentary seat while in Kibaale district, Dr. Emely Kugonza  declared unopposed for Buyanja East seat in Parliament.

Kugonza was also unopposed during NRM primaries in the newly created constituency which was curved off Finance minister Matia Kasaija’s Buyanja constituency.

The minister will face-off with Paul Kyalimpa who is standing as an Independent candidate.

Enock Nyongore was also declared unopposed for the Nakaseke North seat.

In Gulu city, 28 candidates were nominated for the city’s three parliamentary seats; Gulu City East, Gulu City West and Gulu City Woman MP. 12 of them will contest as independents.

NRM, DP and FDC are the only parties that have fielded a candidate for each of the seats while Alliance for National Transformation (ANT) and National Unity Platform (NUP) sponsored two candidates.

In Lira city, 20 candidates were nominated to compete for the three parliamentary seats in the city namely, Lira City East, Lira City West and Lira City Woman MP.

Health minister Dr. Jane Ruth Aceng is in the race for the City Woman MPthe Minister of Health who was on Friday afternoon nominated as a candidate for the Woman MP race.

Aceng who went unopposed during the NRM primary election will now be facing Joy Atim Ongom, the incumbent Lira Woman MP.

In Kampala, 92 candidates were nominated for the 10 parliamentary seats namely, Rubaga North, Rubaga South, Makindye West, Makindye East, Kampala Central, Kawempe South, Kawempe North, Nakawa West, Nakawa East and Kampala Woman MP.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.