Parliament sets EALA election date

Parliament of Uganda


The Parliament of Uganda has fixed July 26th 2021 to conduct the East African Legislative Assembly -EALA by election.

 The seat fell vacant after the death of one of Uganda’s nine representatives Mathias Kasamba on April 27th 2021.

Now according to a notice signed by Henry Yoweri Waisswa for Clerk to Parliament, Parliament will start with nominations of candidates on July 21st and July 22nd 2021 before voting takes place on Monday next week at 10am.

“The Speaker of the East African Legislative Assembly pursuant to section 8(1) of the East African Legislative Assembly Elections Act 2011 notified the Speaker of Parliament of Uganda on 18th May 2021 of a vacancy in EALA following the demise of one of Uganda’s nine representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly”, reads the notice in part.

It adds that nomination forms may be obtained from the office of the Clerk to Parliament for those interested to participate in the race and at a fee of three million Uganda shillings.  

“In accordance with paragraph 7 of the Rules of Procedure for the Election of Members of the East African Legislative Assembly as contained in Appendix B to the Rules of Procedure of the Parliament of Uganda, a candidate is required to pay a nomination fee of Uganda shillings three million”, reads the notice in part.

 Waisswa further writes that the completed nomination forms of candidates shall be submitted to the office of the Clerk to Parliament not later than 10am on Friday July 23rd 2021.

  The fallen EALA MP Kasamba was the Director for Mobilization in the ruling National Resistance Movement Party. 

As such, although anybody qualified to be a legislator with a Uganda Advanced Certificate Education is legible to participate in the race, it’s only the NRM Parliamentary Caucus that has since selected former Kabula County MP, James Kakooza to stand as their candidate to replace Kasamba.


Kakooza defeated five other candidates in the race with 93 votes followed by the former State Minister for Tourism, Godfrey Kiwanda Ssubi who obtained 85 votes in the elections that took place on July 17th 2021.

Kasamba’s long-serving Personal Assistant, Abbas Mutumba came third in the race with 54 votes, followed by Kenneth Nsubuga Ssebagayunga with three votes and the former Gomba Woman MP, Nakato Kyabangi came last with one vote. 

The other contestant Umar Lule dropped out of the race during his open campaign speech.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.